Day Three : Adulting

Todas was unexpected. We started off by going to National Geographic to listen to Susan Goldberg (1st female editor and chief) speak, and things instantly lit up for me. Initially, I didn’t think I would enjoy it because when I think of the infamous yellow rectangle, the first thing that comes to mind is my little sister cutting the photos out of the pages and making collages. Come to find out that there’s actually so much that goes on behind the scenes, and I fell in love with everything that the magazine is and stands for.

The day went on and the next thing I knew, we were in the National Press Club. While listening to the roaring opinions of teenagers and Brian Lamb (founder of CSPAN), I realized that being in that press room was one of the coolest feelings ever. Between listening to the politics panel, and the opinions of the whole crowd, journalism won my heart over, and I’m so glad that it did.

 

Leave a Reply

